THE “OLD STATE HOUSE,” HARTFORD (1792-1796), BULLFINCH, ARCHITECT
Colonel Thomas Seymour (1735-1829), the First Mayor, had offices in this building, 1796-1812. The tower was added in 1820, but otherwise the building presented essentially this appearance during the period when the First Mayor had offices in it. From a painting on ivory, done in 1834, by Edward W. Clay (1792-1857).
Courtesy of Morgan Bulkeley Brainard, of Hartford, who had the rare good fortune to discover it in the hands of a dealer in San Francisco.